Government Ethiopia

Government Ethiopia header image 2

The Ethiopian legislative branch

23,841 Comments · Ethiopian Government

Ethiopia is governed under the constitution of 1994, which gives for a president as chief of state and a prime minister as head of government.

The prime minister is designated by the party in power following legislative elections.
The Federal Parliamentary Assembly has two chambers:

• the Council of People’s Representatives with 547 members, elected for five-year terms in single-seat constituencies; and

• the Council of the Federation with 110 members, one for each nationality, and one additional representative for each one million of its population, chosen by the regional councils, which may elect them themselves or through popular elections

Various opposition parties are represented in the Parliament where representatives from Oromia state hold the most number and representatives from the Amhara State hold the second most position, in correlation with the population order of the corresponding states.

Various opposition parties hold many positions in the Ethiopian parliament including:

• United Ethiopian Democratic Forces
• United Ethiopian Democratic Party-Medhin Party
• Somali People’s Democratic Party
• Gambela People’s Democratic Movement
• All Ethiopian Unity Party
• Oromo Federalist Democratic Movement
• Benishangul-Gumuz People’s Democratic Unity